Posted by: Jill | June 27, 2008

The Great Mango Challenge 2008

When I was little, my family took a trip to Maine and decided that we would challenge ourselves to see if we could get sick of lobster.  We ate it every day, boiled and grilled and in chowder, and it turns out that it is impossible to get sick of lobster.  Trust me: we’re a family of scientists, this was very careful, methodical research.

This summer I am going to apply that same scientific discipline and thirst for knowledge to The Great Mango Challenge 2008.  It is my goal to eat at least one mango every single day, to see if it is possible to get sick of mangos.  Hypothesis: it is not possible to get sick of mangos.  (Shall I develop an Ho and an Ha and do some statistical analysis?)

Breakfast this morning was a mango (check) and bud-bud, delicious sticky rice steamed in banana leaves.  After breakfast, Theresa and I went out to ground-truth some satellite images of water depth.  For me, this entailed sitting in a banca and marking points with a GPS unit every few minutes, while Felipe paddled and Theresa swam around with a weighted line.  I had the good job.

 

On the way back, Felipe and I jumped into the water to swim and Theresa took over paddling, which attracted some laughter and waves from the shore – plus a couple of curious swimmers who came out to say hello.

Leave a Reply

Categories

