Posted by: Jill | August 4, 2008

Philippine Time

My Lonely Planet guide says something about how Cebu clocks are 10 minutes off the rest of the country; or maybe it’s that the entire country is 10 minutes off the rest of the time zone.

  • Exhibit A: when I had cable in my hotel room, I noticed that some shows began 10 minutes before shows on other channels ended.
  • Meetings start at 9 a.m.–ish, which could be more like 9:30 or 10 a.m., or as soon as everyone arrives.
  • The buses aren’t scheduled, but fortunately I never feel pressure to be prompt, so I just plan for a wait of anywhere from 5-15 minutes.
  • The internet café in Boljoon posts its business hours on an official, printed sign in the window which announces that on Sundays, it opens “Sometime After Mass is Finished.”
  • I received a text message this morning with a time stamp of 7:43 a.m., but my phone said it was 7:36 a.m. I thought I had set the clock to something vaguely official (the clock at the ferry terminal, maybe?), but maybe I should trust the cellular provider.

All of this means that I’m not sure exactly what time it is. Between the clocks on my cell phone, watch, computer, and iPod, I believe I am living in a 95% confidence interval of {actual time ± 15 minutes}. The point is: I have lived in the Philippines for about 6 weeks now, and this has never been a problem. I know about what time it is; that’s close enough.

What time is it? Who cares?  Look where I eat breakfast every morning!

What time is it? Who cares? Look where I eat breakfast every morning!

Responses

  1. Nice Dude!


Leave a Reply

Categories

