Posted by: Jill | December 23, 2009

It’s the small things

We had super-low low tides last week which made for great tidepooling.  There are good spots all around San Diego to explore tidepools.  Two of my favorites are:

  1. Cabrillo National Monument, at the southern tip of Point Loma, and
  2. the beach at Scripps, a 90-second walk from my office. This one has obvious logistical merits…

Cabrillo is good for the stunning views of downtown San Diego and the automatic “Welcome to Mexico” message on my cell phone, providing instructions and rates for international dialing (Cabrillo is very, very far south!).

My tidepooling tips are: go slowly, turn over rocks, and poke everything.  I like finding the small things, like this tiny sea star (don’t call it a starfish!), with a 1-inch wingspan, and little chitons and crabs tucked behind mussels and underneath seaweed.

The third photo snapped just as tidepooling expert Diana said, “Um, I think the tide is coming in…” and I got doused up to my knees in icy Pacific ocean.  I was wearing jeans.  Oops.  Well, we all make sacrifices for the things we love.

Responses

  1. i love this seastar photo! Its so luscious and bright and perfect!! Keep up the amazing ocean photography 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

