Posted by: Jill | July 11, 2010

I’m off to the Field!

In a few days I leave for a field season in Maui. I’ll be assisting my labmate, Emily, in her study of a new marine reserve. We’ll be counting fish, measuring seaweed, surveying the reef, and spending as much time in the water as possible. This, my friends, is why I am a marine biologist. I am looking forward to being salty and sandy and sunny for four straight weeks.

Our primary site is the Kahekili Herbivore Fisheries Management Area near Lahaina. This is the first marine reserve in the world that only restricts fishing on herbivorous fish (the ones that eat seaweed). Corals and seaweed compete, so the idea is that if a reef has a lot of seaweed-eating fish then the corals will have less competition and will thrive. Does it work? We are not sure, so that is what we are studying this summer.

I have never been to Hawai’i before. Do you have any suggestions?

Responses

  1. Funny how wordpress lets you cross-comment on blogs but blogspot keeps it proprietary… that, or you’re just more clever than I am. Either way, yes, friends! It will have to be postponed a month, but have a great trip to Hawaii in the meantime!


Leave a Reply

Categories

