Posted by: Jill | October 25, 2011

A good day for science (and for fun)

Research in Rio, Day 4

As a graduate student, my work is never done, even (especially?) when I am in a beautiful and exciting place like Rio. On Sunday, I spent a couple of hours at the microscope in the morning.

This is what Science looks like.

Once I finished my work, I:

  • met up with a group of scientist friends for lunch, relaxing and a quick dip under a cold mountain waterfall,
  • drove up one of the mountains in Tijuca National Park to Vista Chinesa for a great view of the city,
  • saw two monkeys (one was eating a banana! I found this incredibly charming),
  • strolled on Ipanema and Copacabana beaches,
  • checked out the site of last weekend’s Brazil Open of Surfing, then
  • returned home and entered data into a spreadsheet, whereupon I found some intriguing preliminary results.

Look, Mom and Dad, I'm in Rio de Janeiro!

All in all, it was a very good day for science and for experiencing Rio.


Responses

  1. Hi Jill,

    Looking good,, the girl from Ipanema. : ) (Sinatra-Jobim)

    Take care,

    Jimmy

  2. Heh look Jill, you’re in Brazil!

    Love, Mom and Dad


Leave a comment

Categories